Teresa Mullen

A few years ago the sheriff of our county put a gun to my head had my picked up and slammed to the floor, again put his gun to my head and then ordered me tasered. He had to order the deputy 3 times before I was finally tasered. By this time I was sitting up with my hands and feet straight out in front of me…easily handcuffed if that’s what the 4 or 5 of them needed to do. Screaming and crying no no no no. On the 2nd order the deputy shot it off to the side of my feet. Apparently that was not good enough for the narcissistic sheriff. He yelled very loudly…”I SAID TASE HER!!!” I know it hit my thigh….I can’t see it…I can’t feel it…I don’t remember to this day how I got handcuffed and to the kitchen.

I had a scar until April 28th,2013. I got a tattoo to cover it up…picture #2….Picture #1 is Sgt brown and myself. Sgt brown pulled me over almost a yr ago for doing 69mph in a 50. He let me go with a warning!! I stopped by the sheriff’s station to thank him. We chatted for 30 mins.

**The sheriff that abused his authority with me had been charged with 10 felonies and the state had removed him of his duties (nothing to do with me)**

He asked what coping skills I used and how my recovery was going and could I please not compare him to Ex-sheriff Dean Kimpel? Haha needless to say, he helped restore my faith in the fact that not all law enforcement are going to hurt me. Well, as a result of the tasering I had charges and was put on probation. It was horrible!!

I had never been in trouble in my life and here I was 49 yrs old and I was so scared and I was shaking and had just been tasered and the Dr just put me on these strange meds to help with this thing called PTSD and I had to be clear headed for court so I couldn’t take the meds, so I was a shaking mess and my attorney was yelling at me…”You have to get this under control or the judge is gonna have you locked up and have you deemed unfit, and you will stay in that hospital until you can be deemed fit to come before him.” The judge questioned me and my attorney the entire time…”Do you understand what is happening here? Does she understand what is happening here?” He out me on probation for 2 years!!

SERIOUSLY?!?!? So on my 1 yr anniversary of being OFF probation, I went to see Sgt Brown and we took this picture together to celebrate how far I have come in my recovery!! My name is Teresa Mullen…I have PTSD, BPD, Disassociation, Agoraphobia, Depression and anxiety.

The help I have received that made such a difference in my life was DBT (Dialectical Behavior Therapy) and EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing). Two amazing therapies that have changed my life!! Thanx again and I truly hope this helps even just one person see that there is hope and not to give up.

316036_10201053701405650_1053034718_n 954811_10201116146886748_800961704_n

4 thoughts on “Teresa Mullen

  1. Shawn

    I love the tattoo. It says everything important. You are not the victim. Congrats on your recovery. Keep up the great work!!

    Reply
  2. Gramma Tari

    Thank you sooooo much!!! I just really hope this shows others that there is hope. That we should NEVER give up on ourselves. We are worth fighting for!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

